DIYs, Health, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan

Mexican Hot Chocolate Nice Cream

It’s a dreary day.  Not exactly cold, just gray and rainy and definitely the kind of day that requires a chocolatey pick-me-up.  And while I had frozen bananas and cocoa powder ready for precisely this kind of mood, something told me that plain old chocolate nice cream wasn’t going to cut it.

Surveying the counter, I picked up the container of cinnamon, then set it back down.  I wasn’t feeling very cinnamon-y, either.  Besides, I was making the treat to share with my mother, and who knew how she would feel about cinnamon?

Then my eyes landed on the cayenne.  The cinnamon.  The cocoa.  And an idea sprang into my mind…

This Mexican Hot Chocolate Nice Cream is sweet and slightly spicy, with just the right amount of saltiness to balance it perfectly.  I sprinkled chia seeds and crushed raw cashews on top for added protein and healthy fats, but it would also be delicious just the way it is.  Enjoy!

Mexican Hot Chocolate Nice Cream

2 bananas, chopped and frozen

2-3 tablespoons water or vegan milk of choice

2 teaspoons cocoa powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

a dash of salt

a dash of cayenne

Blend all ingredients until smooth and creamy and serve!

 

Stay happy and healthy!

~Shyla and Fargo

Leave a Reply

