DIYs, Health, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan

The “Waste Not, Want Not” Smoothie

As cliche as it sounds, I am a vegan who is incredibly in love with smoothies.  I could eat them three times a day.  In fact, I have in the past:  Strawberry Banana for breakfast, Mango Coconut for lunch, and a surprisingly delicious Savory Sweet Potato for dinner. Sometimes, though, looking at smoothie recipes, I get incredibly discouraged.  To be honest, I just can’t afford cacao nibs or acai packets for my daily smoothies.

So in the end, I stopped looking at smoothie recipes and started coming up with my own. I didn’t base it on what celebrities were making this week.  I didn’t run to buy the $18 a pound green powders everyone was using.  I just opened my freezer and started blending.

And that’s what this smoothie is today: An open your freezer, look in your cupboard, clean your counter kind of smoothie.

Here’s an example.

Let’s say you want that Goji Acai Bowl you saw on YouTube.  But, like most normal humans, you don’t have goji or acai berries on hand.  You might be ready to forget it and eat that totally available donut.  But wait.

You do have a couple of bananas.  There’s some kale in the fridge that still looks good. And upon closer inspection, you even have frozen blueberries in the freezer and a little vanilla in the cupboard

Boom. I give you…

Blueberry Pie Smoothie!

This is pretty typical for me: Buy normal smoothie ingredients and work with them, based on your cravings and inspirations.  Here’s some tips:

  • Bananas, bananas, bananas.  Let them get all brown and speckled, freeze them and enjoy as a smoothie base ANY TIME.
  • Buy mixed frozen fruit!  Frozen mango or blueberries are fairly cheap at Walmart.  Pick up a bag and store to use whenever you’re hungry.
  • Keep an eye on your fresh produce.  A couple of weeks ago, a bag of spinach in our fridge looked a little…ill.  I popped it in the freezer before it could go completely down hill and enjoyed a handful in my smoothies almost every day.
  • Use unexpected ingredients. Juicer pulp, sweet potatoes, apple peels.  They can all be blended up for an extra dose of healthy.

I hope you can use these ideas to come up with a recipe for your personalized “Waste Not, Want Not” Smoothie!  Let me know in the comments what particularly delicious ingredients are lurking in your cupboards…

Stay happy and healthy!

~Shyla and Fargo

Leave a Reply

