DIYs, Health, Horses, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan

~Juicer Pulp 4 Ingredient HORSE TREATS~

I’m always looking for ways to use up juicer pulp.  I’ve added it to smoothies, used it in cake and even fed it to our chickens.  Today, though, when I made a carrot-cantaloupe juice for breakfast, a new idea popped into my mind.

In the past, I’ve given my horses plain old raw juicer pulp and they gulped it down faster than their $18 horse treats.  I briefly wondered how to get all that goodness into a crispy yummy horse treat without a ton of extra fillers like flour or sugar.  Then I did what any good equestrian would do.

I Googled it.

Unfortunately, no one had thought of packing all the fiber and vitamins found in juicer pulp into a horse cookie.  There were dog treats, muffins and chicken food.  But nowhere could I find a recipe for horses.

Never fear, though.

I made one.

IMG_20170503_113449

 

With just four simple ingredients that you probably have on hand right now, these horse treats are quick and cheap to make.  Better yet, they’re horse approved, by both hungry Fargo and fussy Evelyn.

~ Juicer Pulp 4 Ingredient Horse Treats~

2 cups juicer pulp (I used carrot and cantaloupe)

1/3 cup molasses

1/4 cup flax

1 tsp cinnamon

Just combine all of the ingredients in a bowl and dollop onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Then let them cool until they harden up just enough to be crispy.

IMG_20170503_112852My horses gobbled these up!  (And with all human ingredients, you could eat them too!)

Do you have any unique juicer pulp recipes? Let me know!

 

Stay happy and healthy!

~Shyla and Fargo

Leave a Reply

